Adulthood!

1 Corinthians 13:11 “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child:  but when I become a man I put away childish things.”

The process to adulthood can be an extreme journey.  However; somewhere along the lines adulthood must occur.  There should come a time in a young person’s life when they decide to put away childish things.

History teaches us that the age of adulthood has increased over the years.  Just a few decades ago young men and women were getting married, building careers, and raising a family before the age of 20.  Now, I walk into a mall and see 30 and 40 year old men playing video games.

I look back and remember the transition.  I remember in college I still like all that stuff.  I still enjoyed playing some NCAA football, and Tiger Woods Golf on the PS2.  I remember playing golf about two or three times a week.  However; I remember meeting my wife and my attention suddenly changed.  I suddenly started thinking about things like jobs, homes, and family cars.

The transition taught me that I was moving out of childhood and into adulthood.

  • Being an Adult is not determined by your ages:  It is not about a person age.  It is about their desires.
  • Being an Adult is not determined by the beverages you can drink:  Just because you are at the age to drink alcohol does not mean classify you as an adult.
  • Being an Adult is not determined by the language you can use:  I am still in awe at how using fowl language is called adult language.  To me it seems to demonstrate a lack of vocabulary.
  • Being an Adult is not determined by the movies you can watch:  This is a paradigm that is confuses me.  “It is not good for my kids, but it is okay for me.” Hmmm…does that make sense to you?

You see the mindset of adulthood has been distorted. Please remember that a title does not mean entitlement!

Today’s Challenge:  If you are not a child, then start acting like it!

One thought on “Adulthood!

  1. Pingback: Adulthood Can Really Suck | anonymous real thoughts

Leave a Reply

