Do I Qualify

1 Corinthians 1:27-28 “But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world and things which are despised hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are:”

Over the course of my ministry, I have noticed a large amount of debate on whether a person is qualified for a position of service.  I want us to really consider what we are actually discussing.  If it does not blow you away everyday that God allows us to be used by Him then you obviously think way too much of yourself.  To be honest, I am sick and tired of those that look at someone’s service and start picking it apart because they believe they don’t meet the qualifications.  Here is a news flash:

NONE OF US DO! 

I believe the verses in this scripture describe what God requires of us in order to serve Him.  Here are the qualifications you must meet in order to be used by the Lord:

 

  • You Need To Be Ignorant:  If you are foolish, you qualify.  So far my resume is looking pretty good!
  • You Need To Be Impotent:  If you are weak, you qualify.  It is a blessing to know that God uses those that you would never think could be used.  My resume is getting better.
  • You Need To Be Inadequate:  If you look at the calling, look at your ability and say “there is no way I could do that” then you qualify!  Yep, it is looking like I may get the job! 
  • You Need To Be Invisible:  If you have ever made the statement “I am not…” (filling in the blank of whatever you were not) then you qualify.  In other words, you don’t even have to have what you need to do the task and yet still you qualify.  How about that…I am a confident I will get the job.

Look at your personal resume.  Assess it on a spiritual, emotional, and physical level.  Then realize that God does not care about your ability, he cares about your availability.

Today’s Challenge:  You know what God requires, and by now you realize your resume looks really good!  Apply for the job and what God choose you

Leave a Reply

