Home » Devotions through Romans » The Power of Love

The Power of Love

Romans 13:10 “Love worketh no ill to his neighbor:  therefore love is the fulfilling of the law.”

Love is a powerful thing.  Love is the driving force of Christianity.  This verse teaches us the power of love.  The Great Commandment drives home the principle that if a person will love God with all their heart, soul, and mind, then it will take care of all the rest of the commandments.  The problem is that most of us do not have a clue how to direct our love.

We have directed our love toward selfish ambitions.  That means we love ourselves more than others.  Ever notice what happens when people experience a change that is actually productive?  They are so love with their own selves that they can’t celebrate the success that the change is causing.

If we truly want to fulfill the entire counsel of God then we must be driven by a love for others.  We must remove our selfish ambitions and attitudes and start loving people unconditionally.

This has got me to thinking about the American Church Culture.  It has become so much about me, my, and I.  The Christian that is driven by love is more concerned about them and those, rather than me and my.  This has convicted me as a pastor as well.  I hope that the Lord allows me the opportunity to be love driven and not church growth driven.  I want success, but if I was driven by love then I would want measure my success by the success of those I lead.

Today’s Challenge:  May the Lord help us to operate in love for others.

Leave a Reply

